Ch – 2 Physical Features Of India (Part – 2)

Major physiographic divisions of India: ( This is the second part of the previous post

Ch – 2 Physical Features Of India (Part 1)

2. The Northern Plain

  • It is formed by three river systems namely – Indus, Ganga and Brahmaputra.
  • It spreads over an area of 7 lakh sq. km.
  • It is formed of alluvial soil.
  • It is 2,400 km long and 240-320 km broad.
  • The western part of the Northern plains is known as Punjab plains, which is formed by Indus and its tributaries.
  • The Ganga plain extends between Ghaggar and Teesta rivers.
  • The rivers, after descending from the mountains deposit pebbles in a narrow belt of about 8 to 16 km in width lying parallel to the slopes of the Shiwaliks. It is known as bhabar.
  • All the streams disappear in the bhabar belt.
  • South of this belt, the streams and rivers re-emerge and create a wet, swampy and marshy region known as terai.
  • The part of Northern plains, which lies above the flood plains and is formed of older alluvium, is known as bhangar.
  • The soil in this region contains calcareous deposits locally known as kankar.
  • The newer and younger deposits of the flood plains are known as khadar.

3. The Peninsular Plateau:

  • It is composed of old crystalline, igneous and metamorphic rocks.
  • It is divided into two parts: Central Highlands and Deccan Plateau.
  • The part of Peninsular plateau lying to the north of Narmada river covering a major area of the Malwa plateau is known as the Central Highlands.
  • The eastward extensions of Central Highlands are locally known as Bundelkhand and Baghelkhand.
  • The extension of Deccan plateau in the northeast is known as Meghalaya and Karbi-Anglong plateau.
  • The Western Ghats and Eastern Ghats mark the western and eastern edges of the Deccan plateau respectively.
  • The average elevation of Western Ghats is 900-1600 metres while that of Eastern Ghats is 600 metres.
  • The highest peaks in Western Ghats include Anai Mudi (2,695 metres) and Doda Betta (2,637 metres) and the highest peak in Eastern Ghats is Mahendragiri (1,501 metres).
  • The Western Ghats cause orographic rainfall by facing the rain bearing moist winds to rise along the western slopes of the Ghats.
  • Deccan Trap is the black soil area of volcanic origin.

4. The Indian Desert:

  • It lies towards the western margins of the Aravali hills.
  • It receives below 150 mm rainfall per year.
  • Luni is the only large river that flows through it.
  • The area is mostly covered by crescent shaped dunes known as barchans.

5. The Coastal Plains:

  • The western coast consists of three sections, namely – Konkan coast, Kannad plain and Malabar coast.
  • The northern part of the eastern coast is known as Northern Circar, while the southern part is known as Coromandal Coast.
  • Lake Chilika is an important feature of the eastern coastal plains.

6. The Islands:

  • Lakshadweep group of islands lie close to the Malabar coast of Kerala. These group of islands were earlier known as Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindive and were named Lakshadweep in 1973.
  • It covers the area of 32 sq. km.
  • The Pitli island has a bird sanctuary.
  • The island group lying in the Bay of Bengal is known as Andaman and Nicobar islands.
  • These islands experience equatorial climate as they lie close to the equator.

Published by Priya Prakash

In the midst of winter, i found there was within me an invincible summer ~ Albert Camus

3 thoughts on “Ch – 2 Physical Features Of India (Part – 2)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: