Priya's Learning Centre

The animals are classified into ten groups based on the body design, germinal layers, presence of notochord, etc. The ten groups are:

  1. Porifera
  2. Coelenterata
  3. Platyhelminthes
  4. Nematoda
  5. Annelida
  6. Arthropoda
  7. Mollusca
  8. Echinodermata
  9. Protochordata
  10. Vertebrata


  • They are non-motile animals
  • They have holes or pores all over their bodies
  • Pores help in circulating water throughout the body
  • Their bodies are covered with hard outside layer or skeleton
  • They are mainly found in marine habitats.
  • Eg: Spongilla, Sycon


  • They have two layers of cells
  • They live in water
  • They have a cavity in the body
  • They either live in colonies or in solitary
  • Eg: Jellyfish, Hydra


  • Their body is bilaterally symmetrical
  • They have three layers of cells, which provides inside and outside body linings, that’s why they are known as “Triploblastic”
  • Their body is flattened dorsiventrally (from top to bottom)
  • They are either free-living or parasites
  • Eg: Planarians, Liverflukes


  • Their body…

View original post 354 more words

Published by Priya Prakash

In the midst of winter, i found there was within me an invincible summer ~ Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: