Priya's Learning Centre

Plants are grouped on the basis of plant body components, presence of specialised tissues, ability to bear seeds, etc. Based on these factors, plants are classified as:

  1. Thallophyta
  2. Bryophyta
  3. Pteridophyta
  4. Gymnosperms
  5. Angiosperms


  • They do not have well-differentiated body design.
  • They are predominantly aquatic.
  • The plants of this group are commonly known as “Algae”.
  • Eg: Ulothrix, Chara


  • The plant body is differentiated to form stem and leaf-like structures.
  • Specialised tissue for conduction of water is absent.
  • These plants are known as “Amphibians” of plant kingdom, because even though they live on land, they need water for reproduction.
  • Eg: Moss, Marchantia


  • Their body is differentiated into roots, stem and leaves.
  • They have specialised tissues to conduct water and other substances from one plant part to another.
  • Eg: Marsilea, Ferns

The thallophytes, bryophytes and pteridophytes are called “Cryptogamae” or “Those with hidden reproductive organs”, because their reproductive parts are hidden.

View original post 118 more words

Published by Priya Prakash

In the midst of winter, i found there was within me an invincible summer ~ Albert Camus

5 thoughts on “Plantae

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: